Deluxe DIY Bath Bombs

bathbomb

I absolutely love relaxing in a bath and using bath bombs is one of my favorite parts of the ritual. The smell, the fizz, the soft skin. What isn’t to like? Well, not the price. They definitely get expensive—one of them can be around $6 bucks at Lush.

I’ve always wanted to make my own bath bombs but only recently started getting into it. Getting all the supplies might seem expensive at first since you’re buying them at once, but making your own is ultimately very cost effective. Plus, you can reuse the supplies for other projects. I’ve been making bath melts, lip balms, lip scrubs, and hand scrubs as gifts and for myself.

This recipe will make about 3 large bombs. You can put colorants in if you want, but I like to keep it as natural as possible.

You Will Need
2 cups of baking soda
1 cup of citric acid
1/2 cup of Epsom salt
1 tsp jojoba oil
2 tbs castor oil or olive oil
2 tbs of shea butter (this is totally optional)
20 drops of your choice essential oil (I’m using bergamot and sweet orange in the photos)
Water in a spray bottle (one that has an ultra fine mist is best)

Note on citric acid: I get mine from Amazon. Citric acid makes the fizziest bath bombs. I’ve seen substitutes online (like cream of tartar, for example) but I’ve never gotten as good of results.

IMG_1199

Directions
1. In a large bowl combine the oils and essential oils. Add the Epsom salt and mix it thoroughly.

IMG_1201

IMG_1202

IMG_1200

Nothing was in the bowl when I took the pic, but your oils and salt will be in there of course!

IMG_1203
2. Set the sieve over the bowl. It’s important to make sure there are no clumps in your soda or citric acid. Sieve everything into the bowl.

3. Use your hands to start kneading the dry mixtures into the oils. Do it slowly so the ingredients don’t puff up everywhere.

IMG_1206
4. Once everything is pretty much distributed, add the shea butter. Knead this into the mixture.

IMG_1204
5. Now, you’ll need to start adding little sprays of water into the mixture, only enough so that it clumps together and can be molded. This is a very slow process, but do not rush it! The second you add too much water the citric acid will bubble and that will be it for the bath bombs.

IMG_1209
6. Spray, knead, spray, knead. Eventually the mixture will become just damp enough to stay clumped together. To make sure it is ready, pack everything into your mold and release it. If it doesn’t crumble then it’s ready.

IMG_1210
7. Tightly pack your mixture into a mold. I don’t have a mold specifically for bombs, so I just use a measuring cup. Gently flip the mold out to release. Set it on a wire cooling rack and let it sit for a few days undisturbed.

IMG_1212

For this recipe a 3/4 measuring cup will make 3 even bombs.

8. Be aware that the bombs might be slightly sticky to the touch at first, but eventually they will dry out. If I’m giving them as a gift, I wrap them in wax paper and twist the ends like it is a big candy. If you’re going to use them for yourself, store them in a plastic container or ziploc bag otherwise.

Note: The oils in the bomb might make the tub a little slick afterwards, so leave a little note for your recipient if you’re giving them as a gift.

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Deluxe DIY Bath Bombs

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Relaxing Aromatic DIY Bath Bombs - Top Inspired

  2. Danielle says:

    I tried making these last night… I let them dry over night but then they started crumbling this morning when I started putting them in a jar. Did I not mix in enough witch hazel? Any suggestions?

    • itselliewellie says:

      Hi Danielle,

      I’m thinking you used witch hazel instead of water? I don’t have any experience with that specifically, but I do know from experience that if they crumble they weren’t packed hard enough and didn’t have enough water. So, I’d either try again and use more witch hazel, or try using water instead.

      Good luck and hope that helps.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Thanks for this tutorial! Is it normal for them to puff a bit once in the mold? I did mine in cupcake liners, and after I packed them in they swelled a bit. Have I added too much water and set off the citric acid? Thanks so much!

    • itselliewellie says:

      You’re welcome! Yes, it probably is because there was too much water. Mine either get a little smaller or stay the same. I suppose if it was very humid where you are that could make them swell a little!

  4. shannonrober says:

    Reblogged this on Diva Skin & More and commented:
    I can’t wait to try this

Leave a Reply

